Prioritize Work

The backlog is an ordered list of customer requests and reported defects. The Product Owner is in charge of prioritizing the backlog. Prioritizing means keeping the backlog list in an order of importance. Those items that have been requested more often, or are important to the business are listed at the top of the backlog. The Product Owner continuously tends the backlog as customer needs shift in importance. This activity is also referred to as ranking the backlog.

See Prioritizing the Backlog for more information.

Drag-and-drop ranking is the rank method used in your backlog.

Drag-and-drop ranking uses position to establish the relative priority order of a work item. With drag-and-drop ranking, you may prioritize work items by dragging them up or down in priority relative to other work items on the page.

To prioritize a work item using drag-and-drop ranking:

  1. Navigate to one of the applicable views: Backlog, Plan, or Track.

    The dnd and icons indicate that drag-and-drop ranking is available for the work item.

  2. Click the work item row and drag it up or down on the page with respect to its siblings.

    The work item is outlined with a solid black border. A red line indicates the new position that the work item will occupy when the item is dropped.

  3. Release the mouse button to drop the work item at its new position on the page.
Tip Description
New work items Newly-created work items are positioned by default at the top of the page.
Page ranking If you have several pages worth of data on a particular tab (such as 200+ items in your backlog) and you use drag-and-drop to re-rank on the first page of the backlog it will have no impact on your second page of backlogged items.
Filters When using drag-and-drop ranking with a filtered view, your new rank order will be retained, although other work items may be interspersed when the filter is removed.
Import/export If drag-and-drop ranking is active and you attempt to export a view and re-rank your data outside of Rally, your export will reflect a page order. Upon importing the data, your new page order will be preserved; however, the imported work items will be appended to the end of the view. Existing work items are not overwritten, but instead are treated as new work items.