Report Blocked Work

The Blocked field in Rally provides an easy way for you to identify problems with current team work. Any time an issue outside your team's control prevents progress, you should mark the work item as blocked to notify team members and other stakeholders.

Blocked status may be applied to many Rally work items, including:

  • User stories
  • Defects
  • Tasks

Blocked status can also roll-up to work items that are related to the work item. The following table details what relationships share blocks:

Item blocked Related items also blocked
  • User story
  • Defect
Child user story
    Parent user stories

Mark a work item as blocked

There are multiple ways to mark a work item as blocked:

  • To manually set a blocked status, open an editor window for the work item, and select the Blocked checkbox.
  • Where to set blocked status in editor

  • To add a blocked status to a work item from a board app, such as the Kanban Board, hover over the work item card and click the block icon. You can also block a task from the card details display.
  • Block a card

  • To add a blocked status to a work item from the backlog or a grid, such as the custom grid, click the icon in the Blocked column.
  • Blocked reason on grid

    Explain a blocked status

    Use the Blocked Reason field to record why a work item was marked blocked. When editing via a full editor window, the Blocked Reason field is directly below the Blocked checkbox.

    Blocked Reason

    When setting a block on a card from a board app, the Blocked Reason field will display. You may begin typing in the field after clicking the block icon. When you unblock a card, the Blocked Reason field will automatically clear itself.

    Click to play animation

    To set a work item as blocked on the backlog page or a grid, click the blocked icon and enter a Blocked Reason in the popup when prompted. You must have the Blocked column selected as a field to display in order to mark a work item as blocked on the backlog or grid.

    View blocked work items

    The Revisions page displays an entry when a block is placed. This will also reveal the date, time, and user that set the block.

    Sample revision history showing block

    You can use the Blocked Work app to get a quick view of any blocked work in your workspace.

    Blocked work app


    Need more help? The CA Agile Central Community is your one-stop shop for self-service and support. To submit feedback or cases to CA Agile Central Support, find answers, and collaborate with others, please join us in the CA Agile Central Community.